hdr multimedia

Decatur to Host SWAC Softball Tournament May 8-11, 2013

Thursday, June 20, 2013

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) has announced Wilson Morgan Softball Complex in Decatur, Ala., will be the site of the 2013, 2014, and 2015 SWAC Softball Championship Tournament. The Decatur/Morgan County Convention and Visitors Bureau and the City of Decatur's Parks and Recreation Department will host the event for over 200 athletes and coaches, along with their families, traveling from Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Alabama.

The 2,000-seat facility will serve as host venue for the 13 game double-elimination tournaments May 8-11, 2013, May 7-10, 2014, and May 6-9, 2015. The top eight teams in the SWAC East and West Divisions qualify for the championship tournament and teams are seeded based on regular season results among the conference programs. Championship game time is 3 p.m. CST on May 11th. The event will receive live coverage on ESPN3and will broadcast later on ESPNU at 9 p.m. CST. ESPN3 is available to 83 million households via the multi-screen network platform, which is available online at the WatchESPN.com, on smartphones and tablets with the WatchESPN app and through ESPN on Xbox Live. ESPN3 broadcasts are carried by Time Warner Cable, Cablevision and Verizon, the main cable providers of New York and the tri-state area.

Daily admission is $6/adult and $3/child and weekend passes are $20/adult and $10/child. Parking is free. Wilson Morgan Softball Complex features six lighted fields, centrally located concessions, quad, press box and batting cages. Each field has a clay infield and beautiful grass, maintained by electronically controlled underground irrigation systems. Located at 300 Beltline Road, the facility can seat over 2,000 spectators with additional seating available. For more information on Wilson Morgan Softball Complex, visit www.decaturparks.com.

For more information, contact Melinda Dunn at 256.350.2028 or 800.524.6181.

SWAC is organized exclusively for the purpose of encouraging, promoting, advancing, and conducting intercollegiate sports activities and other recreational and not-for-profit activities among the members of the Conference. Current member schools are (East Division) Alabama A&M University, Alabama State University, Alcorn State University, Jackson State University, Mississippi Valley State University, and (West Division) University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Grambling State University, Prairie View A&M University, Southern University and A&M College, and Texas Southern University. For more information, visit www.swac.org.